Atlas Issue #146: For the i15-1 puck selection a component was made read-only (see discussion) but it's not obvious to a user that this is read-only at a glance. We should make read only components more visually distinctive
What is the difference between Disabled and Read-only?
In a nut shell:
• Disabled: field doesn’t apply right now (irrelevant). It is removed from tab order (skipped by assistive technologies), not submitted as data. Example: when a field is inactive, because you need to select something else before this one is relevant, or, when items are being loaded into a list (disabled until active).
• Read-only: value still matters, just locked. Stays focusable, announced, and in tab order. The user needs to read it, not just see it greyed out. With a normal text field,read-only means you can select it or copy text from it (with Select I'm not so sure). Example: the current state of an item is locked, but current selection is viable information, or, see the status assigned by another user, but you cannot change it yourself.
Atlas Issue #146: For the i15-1 puck selection a component was made read-only (see discussion) but it's not obvious to a user that this is read-only at a glance. We should make read only components more visually distinctive
What is the difference between Disabled and Read-only?
In a nut shell:
• Disabled: field doesn’t apply right now (irrelevant). It is removed from tab order (skipped by assistive technologies), not submitted as data. Example: when a field is inactive, because you need to select something else before this one is relevant, or, when items are being loaded into a list (disabled until active).
• Read-only: value still matters, just locked. Stays focusable, announced, and in tab order. The user needs to read it, not just see it greyed out. With a normal text field,
read-onlymeans you can select it or copy text from it (with Select I'm not so sure). Example: the current state of an item is locked, but current selection is viable information, or, see the status assigned by another user, but you cannot change it yourself.