Skip to content

[stable33] Fix cancelling the customization of a share - #63657

Merged
AndyScherzinger merged 10 commits into
stable33from
backport/63227/stable33
Aug 28, 2026
Merged

[stable33] Fix cancelling the customization of a share#63657
AndyScherzinger merged 10 commits into
stable33from
backport/63227/stable33

Conversation

@backportbot

@backportbot backportbot Bot commented Aug 26, 2026

Copy link
Copy Markdown

Backport of #63227

Playwright tests were removed, as they are not available in stable33, although no equivalent Cypress test was added.

@backportbot
backportbot Bot requested review from danxuliu, skjnldsv and susnux August 26, 2026 09:30
@backportbot backportbot Bot added this to the Nextcloud 33.0.9 milestone Aug 26, 2026
The SharingDetailsTab provides buttons to cancel and save the share, so
the share should be saved only when doing it explicitly.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
"onNoteChange" is not called from anywhere, so "newNote" is never set
and therefore "onNoteSubmit" does nothing.

"onMenuClose" is not called from anywhere either in "SharingEntry".

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
The SharingDetailsTab provides buttons to cancel and save the share, so
the share should be saved only when doing it explicitly.

Moreover, the documentation of "onPasswordSubmit" mentions that it was
saved when closing the menu because the password is the only property
that is not automatically synced, so this was clearly a legacy
behaviour.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
The methods and properties were not used anywhere. There are very
similar ones in SharingDetailsTab, so it seems that they were a leftover
from when they were moved there.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
If video verification is enabled it is not possible to save a share
without a password. This could happen if the password is removed without
unchecking first the video verification. Therefore, if the password is
disabled now the video verification is also disabled when the share is
saved.

An alternative would be to disable the video verification in the share
object as soon as the password is disabled, even if it was not saved
yet. However the video verification was not disabled until the share is
saved to ensure that, for example, a misclick on the password does not
change the video verification state and forces the user to explicitly
enable it again.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
The SharingDetailsTab provides buttons to cancel and save the share, so
the share should be saved only when doing it explicitly.

Note that although "saveShare()" only sends the password when it is
modified there is no need to explicitly send it for mail shares like it
was done in the removed code, as for mail shares the
"Video verification" checkbox is shown only when the password was
modified, so "password" is implicitly sent when "sendPasswordByTalk" is
sent.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
This has been broken since it was refactored in
208ff80, although it seems that the
method was not used anywhere (not even when it was refactored).

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
The SharingDetailsTab receives a share object and uses it as the model
to be edited from the UI components. Therefore, when the edition is
cancelled, the share object should be returned to its original state.
Otherwise any UI using the share object would still show the modified
state.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
"newPassword" is internally delegated by the share object to
"_share.newPassword" through getter and setter properties. Therefore
deleting "newPassword" has no effect, as there is no such attribute,
and it should be set to undefined instead.

Now that "newPassword" is correctly cleared "Set password" is no longer
checked if the share of a password is removed, the share is updated, and
the share is customized again (without reloading the page in the
meantime).

Signed-off-by: Daniel Calviño Sánchez <danxuliu@gmail.com>
@danxuliu danxuliu added 2. developing Work in progress and removed 3. to review Waiting for reviews labels Aug 28, 2026
@danxuliu
danxuliu force-pushed the backport/63227/stable33 branch from 16565a2 to f0d78c1 Compare August 28, 2026 11:04
@danxuliu

Copy link
Copy Markdown
Member

/compile

@danxuliu danxuliu left a comment

Copy link
Copy Markdown
Member

Choose a reason for hiding this comment

The reason will be displayed to describe this comment to others. Learn more.

Tested and works 👍

Keeping as a draft, though, until assets are compiled and CI has run.

Signed-off-by: nextcloud-command <nextcloud-command@users.noreply.github.com>
@danxuliu danxuliu added 3. to review Waiting for reviews and removed 2. developing Work in progress labels Aug 28, 2026
@danxuliu
danxuliu marked this pull request as ready for review August 28, 2026 14:02
@danxuliu
danxuliu requested review from a team as code owners August 28, 2026 14:02
@danxuliu
danxuliu removed the request for review from a team August 28, 2026 14:02
@danxuliu
danxuliu requested review from CarlSchwan, icewind1991, kristian-zendato, leftybournes and salmart-dev and removed request for a team August 28, 2026 14:02
@AndyScherzinger
AndyScherzinger merged commit b17df30 into stable33 Aug 28, 2026
129 of 131 checks passed
@AndyScherzinger
AndyScherzinger deleted the backport/63227/stable33 branch August 28, 2026 16:13
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Labels

Projects

None yet

Development

Successfully merging this pull request may close these issues.

3 participants